Bulls#it is still Bulls#it no matter how you sling it.

Wrap it anyway you want, be it in a nice box or an old piece of newspaper, bulls#is still bulls#it. After taking the time to understand what happened to President Obama at the last debate, I have started to have more sympathy. If I had been standing there, I would have had to bite my tongue and look down to keep from yelling “Bulls#it” myself at Mitt Romney. Kudos to the President! He is a better person than I am.

After checking with my Daughter, The Princess, I learned that there is a name for the debate technique utilized by Romney at the Debate. The Princess knows a thing or two about debate, she is a formal debater and can make people cry on a regular basis. It is a family thing! Anyway, y’all that know me remember the times I bragged on her last year on all her successful debate tournaments, from Wake Forest to Harvard, she left kids devastated all across the country. She is tough. We have a designated trophy shrine to prove it. Anyhoo, as we were piled up on my bed watching the somber , zombie , snooze zone of evening debate Wednesday, The Princess commented on the flaws in the debate strategy of the two men. It was kind like watching lawyer shows with my husband, he goes all wacko-nuts screaming that they are mis-portraying the profession. It kind of takes the fun out of the who-done-it scenes when I have someone who gives me the outcome before my Dish satellite captures the signals and projects the image.

Gish Gallop,” she said, munching on popcorn. It didn’t register because I was typing on FB with my iPhone with the irritating auto spell correct thing, the play-by-play updates and humorous comments that my friends and foes love to experience. I get so many darn requests that I have to limit access. Sorry, it is kind of like getting invitations to the best parties and weddings, can’t just let any ole’ riffraff enjoy the delightful commentary, it would lose its appeal.

Yesterday as I was trying to digest the bile from the evening of utter disbelief, I came across the term I had heard The Princess mutter. By Durn, she had been correct! It was the Gish Gallop!

RationalWiki explains it like this

The Gish Gallop, named after creationist Duane Gish, is the debating technique of drowning the opponent in such a torrent of half-truths, lies, and straw-man arguments that the opponent cannot possibly answer every falsehood in real time. The term was coined by Eugenie Scott of the National Center for Science Education.

The formal debating jargon term for this is spreading. You can hear some mindboggling examples here. It arose as a way to throw as much rubbish into five minutes as possible. In response, some debate judges now limit number of arguments as well as time. However, in places where debating judges aren’t there to call bullshit on the practice, like the internet, such techniques are remarkably common.

How about that, My Sweetie Princess was able to recognize formal Bulls#it! I am so proud of her!

After doing a bit of heady research myself, I found an interesting article in the Daily Kos that I am referring to as (be sure to chick this link), Bulls#it at its finest!

Ok, someone who is friends with Joe Biden, needs to let him know about this little trick. He may experience heavy Gish Galloping next week.

Quick, we need volunteers to be in the audience with an Obama sign that says, “Gish Gallop, Mitt” mixed in with all those “Forward ” signs! Can I get someone to take care of printing these signs for us?  I need to pick The Princess’s brain and see if she can predict the next trick pony, or dressage horse,  Mitt might be riding, so I can contact David Axelrod. Ok, team, let’s get to work, we have some shoveling to do!

This entry was posted in family, humor, Politics, words of wisdom, wordsof wisdom and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

